Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help deciding on body and lense

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help deciding on body and lense

Hi everyone,
    I currently have 40D with the kit lens and was looking to upgrade. initially I was thinking of just upgrading the lens, but now I'm thinking of upgrading the body to a full frame. The lense I am considering is the 70-200 2.8 II IS. I read a lot of great reviews about this lense. For the body, I was considering a 5D markII (considered markIII, but higher price and the fact that a mkII is probably good enough since I'm upgrading from a 40D, made me reconsider). I'm not a professional photographer. I'd still consider myself to be relatively new to photography, but I want to make a significant upgrade from my current camera. I like taking photos of just about everything (people, street life, landscapes) during my travels. Love to get your thoughts on whether I should consider something else or if I'm making a good choice. This is a fairly significant investment for me so I want to make sure I'm making a wise choice. Thanks.

Marlon

Welcome to the forum Marlon.

Was this an either / or question?

The 5D II with the 70-200mm F/2.8 II IS would is an awesome combination. The 5D III with its new improved AF system would be an even better combination.

I think either would be a good choice, and I think the determining factor would be what you want to spend.

The 5D III has many improvements over the 5D II, but the most talked about and most important is the AF system.

Good Luck

Rick