PDA

View Full Version : Advice for newbie

cmac76
09-09-2009, 04:05 PM
My wife and I are looking to get into photography as a serious hobby. I have been doing some research on SLRs, and, for about a $2000 budget I found the Canon EOS 7D packaged with the 28-125mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM Lens for $1899.

Would this be a good place to start? We want to take all kinds of photographs and maybe find a niche along the way.

Many of you sound very advanced in your knowledge, so I apologize if I offended anyone with such an elementary post. Any advice on gear for getting started would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris

Keith B
09-09-2009, 04:17 PM
The 7D sounds like it is going to be a great camera. The 28-135 lens is a okay starter but I'd recommend saving for some new glass in the future.

I think you should look into the 50D also. Then you could buy a better lens like the 24-105 L.

Sean Setters
09-09-2009, 04:22 PM
How important is it for your SLR to shoot video (thereare cheaper options if "not very" is the answer)? Otherwise, how important is image quality to you (good lenses are probably a imortant place to invest your money if you want the best image quality)? You also need to letus knowhow you'll be using the camera--"We want to take all kinds of photographs" isquite vague and can generate suggestions that might not beoptimal for your particular situation. Kids, sports, low-light, landscape, wildlife--how are you most likely to use your camera and under what conditions? Will weather sealing be a necessary feature?

Don't get me wrong, I think the 7D will be a solid camera when it comes out--however, just starting out, I'm just wondering if you need the features that justify spending most of your budget on it.

Mark Elberson
09-09-2009, 04:28 PM
Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera Body Kit, Black - Refurbished $999.95 ("http://www.adorama.com/ICA50DR.html?searchinfo=Canon+Refurbished)