PDA

View Full Version : Canon wildlife lens?

Brendan7
12-04-2009, 02:03 PM
Hi, I'm an amateur nature photographer. I mainly shoot birds, but also do a fair amount of macro.

I currently have been using a 50d with a borrowed 5.6/400l. After saving the dough for months, i am in the market for a new wildlife lens. Budget for lens: not over $2500.

I've already done a large amount of research but could use suggestions from some better photographers than I (lots of those here) who have some experience with wildlife shooting.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks!

Brendan

Colin
12-04-2009, 02:35 PM
I guess it's a question of, how close can you get, how close do you need to get, will that be highly variable, and how much light will you usually have?

300 f/4 IS, 400 f/5.6, and 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 come to mind. Anything better in the canon line is going to be more than $2,500.

I'd go with a dedicated macro lens as opposed to screwing around with extension tubes or whatever, particularly on a telephoto. Extension tubes to do maro on a 35mm can be interesting (but very tight.) but within your budget, I think you could include a nice macro in that combination.

Brendan7
12-04-2009, 02:38 PM
as far as how close I can get, I shoot everything from songbirds to slow, tame Brown Pelicans. On any given instance I am probably within a dozen feet of the bird (pelicans, about five).

elmo_2006
12-04-2009, 04:56 PM
I would go with the 300 4L IS USM with either the 1.4x or the 2.0x, preferrably the 1.4x. I have read that the 300 4L + 1.4x extension work great together! Besides you may end up with spare change to use towards a seperate macro lens!

My next purchase will be the 300 4L and the 1.4x.

Do a search on both in flikr and you can then compare.

Hope this helps....

bob williams
12-04-2009, 06:07 PM