PDA

View Full Version : In Camera Sharpening

bob williams
01-01-2010, 10:17 AM
Assuming you want sharp images, what are the ups and downs of maximizing sharpness settings in camera? And if you do maximize the sharpness settings in camera, is it necessary to sharpen in post?

your guidance is appreciated

Bob

Oren
01-01-2010, 11:01 AM
I guess you shoot JPEG... right?

bob williams
01-01-2010, 11:07 AM
I guess you shoot JPEG... right?
<div style="CLEAR: both"]</div>

Nope, I shoot Raw and normaly keep the sharpeness set at 3 or 4 on my 50 D.

Oren
01-01-2010, 11:09 AM
Then why do you have a problem? leave the default setting as it is and then play with it when its on your PC.

bob williams
01-01-2010, 11:14 AM
Then why do you have a problem? leave the default setting as it is and then play with it when its on your PC.
<div style="CLEAR: both"]</div>

I really don't have a problem and I usually do sharpen in post--although, i am not very good at it yet---but if i can reduce post processing time by letting the camera do most or all of of the sharpening, then why not simply bump up the sharpness setting?

Daniel Browning
01-01-2010, 12:11 PM
Assuming you want sharp images, what are the ups and downs of maximizing sharpness settings in camera? And if you do maximize the sharpness settings in camera, is it necessary to sharpen in post?

Since you shoot raw, there are no downsides, but there are at least two benefits to maximizing sharpness in camera:

The preview JPEG is sharpened more, making it easier to review on the LCD to see if you nailed critical focus or not.
The raw metadata is set closer to where you want it to be when you get to post processing, but only if you use a raw converter that detects and uses the metadata, such as DPP. This saves time and lets you make decisions about the photo when you take it rather than some point later.