PDA

View Full Version : Help! with shooting Birds in Flight

Brendan7
01-02-2010, 05:07 PM
Hi all,

I just got my spanking new EF 300mm f/4l is usm.

I often shoot birds and BIF and would like some advice with:

1) What shutter speeds/ISOs should I use on any given day?

2) What is the minimum shutter speed needed to stop action of a bird, say, catching a fish?

3) For BIF, I should use AI Servo, right?

I know some of those questions seem really stupid and basic, but, well, I am a beginner at this.

All help is very much appreciated.

thanks for your time and help!

brendan [:)]

HiFiGuy1
01-02-2010, 05:32 PM
Congratulations on the new glass! I think if you look carefully at the settings of many of the bird shots, especially Nate's, you'll see that 1/1000 seems to be a good starting point for stopping action. Some of his shots I remember have been around 1/640, and others have been much faster. I don't know from experience what the minimum Tv is, but empirically these seem to work anyway.

Definitely post some shots with your new lens so we can learn from your settings what works well.

musickna
01-02-2010, 05:56 PM
At the risk of not sounding very helpful, I suggest that the best way to answer this question is for you to take your camera out and just start experimenting. It's the best way to learn in my own experience.