PDA

View Full Version : How to get best results with Canon Tilt/Shift Lenses?

lrpacini
01-31-2010, 10:28 AM
This is an incredible Website! Kudos! I am sorry that it took me so long to discover it! I particularly like the approach to the reviews!

I am new to architectural photography (have done nature/landscape for years) and am going to be doing a great deal of interior and exterior (including minute architectural detail) for a project on which I am working. I am using a Canon 5D and renting the Canon 17mm TSEand 24mm TSE II lenses in addition to my Canon 24-105 f/4 L. I have read a variety of tutorials on the Web, but hoping that someone here can boil it down and help to shorten the learning curve! At this point I have a24 hourrental and 8 hours of locations scheduled! Any tips, tricks and techniques you are willing to share would be wonderful!

Thanks in advance,

Lauren

peety3
01-31-2010, 03:11 PM
With all due respect, you're crazy. :)

Rule #1: beg, borrow, steal, or rent a GOOD tripod. One that'll let you make adjustments on the camera without the camera moving.

Tip #1: shoot tethered to a laptop, or preview your images on a laptop before you move onto the next site.

Tip #2: find or buy a double bubble level for your camera. You want the camera level.

Tip #3: grab a soccer ball or other spherical object. Hold it up, and think about what it sees in all directions. Imagine moving the ball to the vantage point you want, then imagine your camera leveled inside of the ball, and imagine how you'd shift the lens to get the shot(s) you want.