PDA

View Full Version : One quick Question about a lense Aperture

vitomalpi
02-09-2010, 11:42 AM
Lets start by saying that i'm fairly new to photography and some of my questions might be to noob... [:)]

I'm looking to get a 50mm lens but i'm watching my spending (can't buy an L lens)...

Is there a significant difference between a 1.8 and 1.4 when we talk about DOF ?

Same question goes for speed , is there a significant difference when shooting in low light ?

Thanks !

Mark Elberson
02-09-2010, 11:53 AM
f/1.8 is 2/3 of a stop slower than f/1.4. In terms of shutter speed that means 1/160th instead of 1/250th. f/1.8 is still VERY fast!

DoF: Assuming a subject distance of 10 feet the total DoF @ f/1.8 will be 0.81ft vs. 0.65ft @ f/1.4.

Check out Bryan's reviews of these two lenses. They are both great in their own right. Since you are new to photoprahy and the f/1.8 is SO cheap I'd consider buying that and finding its limitations before upgrading to the f/1.4. It's a fantastic lens and probably one of the best ways to spend $100 to improve both your understanding of and quality of your photopraphy.

Brendan7
02-09-2010, 11:55 AM
Daniel will definitely answer this in a more detailed fashion, but here's my impression:

the difference between f/1.8 and f/1.4 is not HUGE, it's reasonable, though. Both give good DOF.

Now, comparing the 2 lenses:

the 50 1.8 doesn't have USM or an 8-blade aperture. Build quality is terrible. $90

the 50 1.4 has USM, and an 8-blade aperture. Build quality is reasonable. $300

The 1.4 @1.4 has the same sharpness of the 1.8 @1.8. and so forth. Point: with the 1.4 you can get sharp results at wider apertures (Daniel?)

my 2¢: get the 1.4

brendan

bardinjw
02-09-2010, 11:56 AM
IMO, the biggest difference will be lens quality. I assume you're comparing the 50 1.4 to the "plastic fantastic" 50 1.8. The 1.4 is a better built, sharper lens.