PDA

View Full Version : How to eliminate noise in video recording?

_MD_
03-14-2010, 06:56 PM
Please help! I started doing HD recording with my canon 7d, but I get a lot of noise while recording a video in low lighted environment (mostly indoors). I have to start off by saying that I'm only a beginner and I just managed to reduce noise in still shots by shooting at a longer shutter speeds with ISO100... But this method is not applicable for video.

I use 17-55mm 2.8 and here's the settings I've tried (all manual):

Aperture - 2.8
Shutter - 30
ISO tried 100 (comes out very dark, noise not visible) and up to 2000 (bright, but lots of of noise)

So any advice as to how I can eliminate noise for indoor videos? Maybe it is done at post-productions level? Or maybe I should use filters?! I never used any... anybody wants to enlighten me what they are for? UV? Polarizing? ND??? Thanks so much! =)

jcrowe87
03-14-2010, 07:09 PM
I sadly will say that the majority of the problem is simply not enough light. Nearly all videos you see that are crisp and clean have external light sources, or are shot with very fast lenses, F1.2 or even wider. Once noise is in your images from using high ISOs there is little you can do to rid yourself of it. If you are serious about video, investing in some type of lighting may be the best thing for you, other than that, try to work with what you have at your disposal.

_MD_
03-17-2010, 09:59 PM
***bump***

Daniel Browning
03-17-2010, 10:06 PM
I think jcrowe answered your question pretty well already.

So any advice as to how I can eliminate noise for indoor videos?

You can't. When light is low or poor quality, you get noise. You can try to hide it by using NR, increasing contrast (clip blacks), reducing saturation, etc., but personally I would not change my desired rendering just to reduce noise.

Maybe it is done at post-productions level?