PDA

View Full Version : Memory Cards and Image Quality

nimblybimbly85
03-24-2010, 12:23 AM
This may be a stupid question, but i am new to dslr photography and I'm trying to learn as much as possible..

Do memory cards have any effect in image quality?

After I bought my XSI, I didn't have much money left and I purchased a Sandisk 2 GB card. I notice some people list the types of cards they have in their equipment list. Are there good and bad types/brands that effect image quality?

Thanks a lot!

wickerprints
03-24-2010, 12:34 AM
No, the capacity, speed, and brand of card have no effect on image quality.

The capacity affects how much data can be stored. The speed affects how rapidly the camera can write images stored in the camera's shooting buffer onto the card. The brand of card may or may not be associated with its reliability.

btaylor
03-24-2010, 01:12 AM
On a slightly different note (sorry to highjack the thread but the original post has been answered) what are people's thoughts on the different brands of CF cards? I've always used Sandisk card without any issues but the Lexar UDMA cards are pretty attractive for the price.

crosbyharbison
03-24-2010, 01:56 AM
I've always used Sandisk card without any issues but the Lexar UDMA cards are pretty attractive for the price.

I just bought a x233 udma lexar 16gb for my 5d II and its been fantastic. I had a 4gb extreme III sandisk before and this is just a bit faster and quite a lot larger. No problems so far.

Ralph
03-24-2010, 02:27 AM
On a slightly different note (sorry to highjack the thread but the original post has been answered) what are people's thoughts on the different brands of CF cards? I've always used Sandisk card without any issues but the Lexar UDMA cards are pretty attractive for the price.

<div style="clear: both;"]</div>