PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Black and White conversion

Sheiky
07-16-2010, 04:41 AM
Hey there,

30 september I need to shoot a wedding. And the couple also wants some black and white shots. The fact is that I have a hard time coming up with a proper black/white photo. I just can't seem to get a nice and good toned black-white photo.

Are there any programs/plug-inns you use? I'm very curious on how you do it, because I think beautiful black and white is a true art which I don't poses.

At least pushing the sliders to monochrome in Lightroom doesn't really work out that well.

I use Lightroom 3 and CS5.

Thanks!

Jan

cfnz
07-16-2010, 05:08 AM
Are you not happy with any of the default Lightroom 3 B&W presets?

Johnny Rasmussen
07-16-2010, 06:02 AM
Agree, black and white is a true art. I have been working with B&W the last 2-3 years and have come to see it that way.

I have been using the same plug-in for almost 3 years now, it is called B&W Styler, you can see for your self if you like it http://thepluginsite.com/products/photowiz/bwstyler/index.htm ("http://thepluginsite.com/products/photowiz/bwstyler/index.htm)

Some people prefer this some prefer that when it comes to B&W conversion. I think the key is to make best use of the tools you have.

- Johnny

Sheiky
07-17-2010, 05:49 AM
Are you not happy with any of the default Lightroom 3 B&W presets?

Nah I tried all of them, but they don't give me the look I want. There's always something not right and in most of those cases I'm not directly sure of what to change so it looks better.

Agree, black and white is a true art. I have been working with B&W the last 2-3 years and have come to see it that way.

I have been using the same plug-in for almost 3 years now, it is called B&W Styler, you can see for your self if you like it http://thepluginsite.com/products/photowiz/bwstyler/index.htm ("http://thepluginsite.com/products/photowiz/bwstyler/index.htm)