PDA

View Full Version : Lense for a T2i

dfedzina
07-23-2010, 05:28 PM
My wife recently gave me the go ahead to get a new DSLR and I've decided on the T2i (yet to purchase as I want to see if kit or buying lense separate is cheaper). I'm really a newbie with photography, but want to be able to get really nice shots of my new son around the house and for vacations. I don't anticipate ever getting serious with photography to the point of really caring a lot about the corners of a photo. I stumbled across this site and have been reading a lot for the past week or so. I've read a lot of great reviews/opinions and gained a lot of insight. Anyway, my lense options formy budget (around $300-$350 in addition to the body) are limited as far as I can see. I can either purchase the T2i with the 18-55 lense and add the 55-250, or just pick up the 18-135 or 28-135.All 3 optionswill run right around the same price ($1,100 with camera). What would you do? If you think of other alternatives, I have an open mind.

darklord
07-23-2010, 05:41 PM
Be careful, buddy. I started out thinking the same thingnot caring about corners etc but after barely one year, I now have 4-5 large tied up in my camera and lenses.[:D]

The 18-55 and 55-250 combo is a good one to start with. Go to the 18-135 if you really don't want to change lenses. But the 18-135 is heavy and expensive and the 18-55 and 55-250 are very light so very easy to change and carry.

Shea Design
07-23-2010, 06:09 PM
I would get the body & a 50mm f/1.8 AND 85mm f/1.8 - Now I don't expect a newish photographer to understand that advice, but if you want sharp images and the ability to open up the aperture for subject isolation Via thin DOF - these two gems can bring it. Natural light,.. etc.

The problem with zooms is there is too much glass in the tube, softening and adding aberration along the way. The problem with kit lenses is you typically outgrow them and they rarely offer the features mentioned above.