PDA

View Full Version : Beach volleyball camera settings?

ScottA
07-30-2011, 02:42 PM
I enjoy shooting a lot of beach volleyball with my Canon T1i w/ a Canon 15-85mm IS USM lens. Any advice on best camera settings (shutter speed, ISO, apt.,mode setting, metering settings,etc..) would be greatly appreciated. I have some knowledge, experience with camera settings and would like feedback from other peoples experiences shooting beach volleyball. I have over 20 years experience playing volleyball so I know what angles, positions are optimal to shoot from.. My shooting position on the court can vary, I tend to get a few feet back from the net post, staying low. I always like facing the bay.ocean when I shoot. Between 9am-2pm or so I

Daniel Browning
07-30-2011, 04:41 PM
If the lighting is consistent, I

nvitalephotography
07-30-2011, 05:14 PM
Id set it to AV mode set a really small aperture so the background is as blurred and not distracting. During the day outside as long as its sunny ISO 100 is probably fine, but as Daniel said if your shutter speed starts to drop below 1/500 then raise the ISO accordingly. Spot metering so the subject is exposed correctly. If you have a flash available it could come in really handy to cut down those harsh midday shadows.

Try to avoid facing to directly toward the sun otherwise you may get a bunch of silhouette shots or shots with really overexposed backgrounds.

Goodluck

Richard Lane
07-30-2011, 10:23 PM
Hey Scott,

Welcome to the forums!

I would try to stay above 1/1000sec unless you would like to intentionally introduce arm blur or ball blur. On the beach ISO 100 or 200 should be good enough. I've never used your lens, but it seems like you will be shooting at around f/4.5 to f/5.6.