PDA

View Full Version : unsure what lens to get, please help ;)

marie d
02-25-2009, 04:12 PM
I recently purchased a canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM to replace my canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.

Now i am looking to purchase a L series lens to replace my EF-S17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.. I will be using this for mainly landscape shots. I’m presently using a Rebel Xti but i might up grade to a full frame in the future, not 100% sure yet.

I am just lost in what lens to get for wide landscapes. I don’t want to carry a tripod with me and i was hoping for an IS on this second purchase... i really love my new and first prime zoom lens, and i want to stay in that line of lens now. I’m not a professional photographer, it’s a hobby for me that i enjoy very much.

I was looking at the Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L II USM Lens... the Canon EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM Lens.. are they still ok for hand holding regardless they have no IS... or maybe the Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM Lens. I’m new at learning to stop down the f stops and all that stuff but i am slowly learning.

I’m ready to make my second purchase as soon as i can decide what to get out of these 3 lens i have mentioned.. or maybe there would be another lens you would recommend for me in the prime series. I hope you can help me make my decision..

alex
02-25-2009, 04:55 PM
If you:

don't mind selling any EF-S lenses you have if you ever get a full-frame body in the future

and you:

don't mind not having coverage between 55 and 70mm (not a huge hole, IMO)

I would highly suggest getting the EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS. It has L-series image quality by all accounts I've seen, plus it has the IS you want. It's the only lens that I have on my XSi, and I absolutely love it. If you ever do switch to a full-frame setup, this lens should be able to sell easily.

The 70-200mm f/4 IS is actually the next lens I want to get to have with my 17-55! a great pairing IMO.

Just my 2 cents,

alex

Bill M.
02-25-2009, 05:00 PM