PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a 24" LCD...do I realy need to spend $600+

mitchel
03-17-2009, 11:42 PM
I am looking for a 24" LCD because my Sony 21" CRT died.

It seems like you can get a decent one for about $350 or so, and then you go up a level and hit the $600+ range.

I am not a pro, but I do like Photoshop my photos before I send them off to print...but is this enough justification to double the cost of the monitor?

What do you guys use as far as LCD's...especially if you have a 24" one.

Thanks!

Mitch

Sean Setters
03-17-2009, 11:57 PM
How about a 22" Acer Widescreen LCD ("http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009145)? Only about $170 +tax....

I bought a model very similar in May '08, and I can't believe I waited so long to do it. Of course, I was using a 15" CRT before, but still, this monitor is fantastic. Of course, it wouldn't seem so huge after your 21" CRT, but it'll still be very adequate and quite reasonable in price.

unjx
03-18-2009, 12:11 AM
Dellhttp://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Monitors/productdetail.aspxc=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=320-7345 ("http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Monitors/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=320-7345)for 350.00

Great specs for the money.

EdN
03-18-2009, 12:18 AM
I'm using a 24" Samsung which is reasonably priced (around $300) and has 1900 x 1200 resolution. I highly recommend a 24".

bardinjw
03-18-2009, 12:38 PM
Unfortunately, the more expensive monitors are often worth it for photographers. It's hard to judge your photographs color and contrast when each of those changes with a few degrees difference in viewing angle, and the cheaper TN panels can be hard to get color calibrated accurately.

Do a search for TN VA and IPS lcd panels.

Here's one of my first google results: http://dcuser.net/others/lcd-monitor-for-photography-ips-lcd-panel.html

Dallasphotog
03-18-2009, 03:00 PM
I'm doing fine with a less expensive 24" monitor (Gateway FHD2401).