PDA

View Full Version : 1D MK IV or wait?

wildstraw
03-28-2013, 11:14 AM
So im a photography student, slowly setting up a business, and getting into the gist of things. Currently have a 60D, 70-200 f/2.8 mk I, efs 15-85, and 50mm 1.8, a fairly standard kit. Im looking at upgrading.

Currently my focus is on a little of everything just to get my feet off the ground. so a little commercial (studio product, architecture), landscape, some wedding, etc etc. But the aim is to eventually move 'solely' into sports, and in particular snow sports.
Im currently looking pretty heavily into buying a 1D mk IV and selling my 60D and efs lens, then maybe buying something wide like the 17-40 f4, or if i can save enough, maybe the 24-70, but the list of dream lenses goes on.

my question is, is it worth buying the mk IV or should i wait another year or so for something like the 7D mk II (if its ever gonna come out) or save my but off, maybe trade in a few of my brothers and sisters, to buy a 1dx?

I've got my eye on a few mk IV's that are selling under the $3000 (AUS) mark (which at the moment is WELL and truly my budget) with anywhere between 10k and 70k actuations, and all in good nick (currently looking at a 77K one in fantastic condition on auction on ebay starting at $2000). they are rated at 300k actuations, so i figure at 77k they should still have plenty of life in them, but if all else fails its only like $400ish for a new shutter assembly, right? ...

In my opinion from the research ive done, the mk IV still holds its own, and certainly isnt quite outdated yet (but im not 100% sure in terms of !SO and resolution). but will it be outdated too soon in the future? Should I just hold off and wait for something better to come out in my price range, or hold on for a second hand 1dx in the next 18-24 months?

Any help would be much appreciated. THANKS!

Will

Joel Eade
03-28-2013, 01:04 PM
Will,