PDA

View Full Version : (Megapixels) War...what is it good for....

Kayaker72
02-28-2020, 01:05 AM
Every once in awhile I like to remind myself of a few things. Right now I am thinking about the benefit of MP and how many MP I need, with a nearly confirmed rumor of a R5 with 40-45 MP, a R6 with 20 MP, the 1DX III with 20.2 MP and the rumored "high MP" camera that is potentially 82 MP. Of course, that is just Canon. Sony and Nikon are sporting 40-65 MP in their current cameras. Fuji just released a 100 MP "medium" format camera.

But there are a lot of people talking about all the MPs and needed more MP. Yet, I recall doing the math when I bought my first DSLR, the Canon 7D, and concluding it was time to invest in a DSLR as that was enough resolution at 18 MP.

Being an engineer, I like numbers....so here is a table I put together this morning....

Camera
Megapixels
Horizontal Pixels
Vertical Pixels
Horizontal PPI at 24 inches
Vertical PPI at 24 inches
Horizontal inches at 150 ppi
Vertical inches at 150 ppi
Horizontal inches at 300 ppi
Vertical inches at 300 ppi

5DIII

5DIV

1DX III

Rumored R5

Rumored High MP

7D

M3

M6 II

G7X II

I picked a few of the metrics as:

The largest print in my house is 24 in x 16 in. I have images up of that size shot with the 7D, 5DIII, and 5DIV. As far as I am concerned, they all look good. Maybe the images shot with the 5DIII/IV are a bit better, but I was also shooting with better lenses by that time.

I've always heard/read that at normal viewing distances, the human eye can start to discern ~75-150 dots per inch resolution. So, I went with 150 ppi (and yes, I am assuming DPI = to pixels per inch (ppi)).

Then, at least at one point, it was common for magazines to require images at 300 ppi. Maybe because of this, I've always heard 300 dpi/ppi regarded as the higher end standard.