Thread: Beginner- First NON-Auto Mode pictures

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Beginner- First NON-Auto Mode pictures

I am just beginning to learn about photography. And these are my first ever pics taken that aren't on auto-mode lol. Can only go up from here! If anyone can tell me how I can get a baby in focus while he's flying at me that would be great! Thanks a lot

PS - this is James

[img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/550x0/__key/CommunityServer-Discussions-Components-Files/14/2772.IMG_5F00_0930.JPG[/img]

[img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/550x0/__key/CommunityServer-Discussions-Components-Files/14/7411.IMG_5F00_0947.JPG[/img]

[img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/550x0/__key/CommunityServer-Discussions-Components-Files/14/7853.bb17.JPG[/img]

Re: Beginner- First NON-Auto Mode pictures

Are you using manual focus? While manual focus is wonderful to get super sharp images of still objects, set your camera in AI servo mode and use Autofocus. This is basically the same as the green box setting, it works best for something moving toward or away from you. You will have to take care that focus does not track the hand reaching out.

Focus on the eyes!

Also, a smaller aperture will give more depth of field. This will hide minor focus errors. Try f/5.6 or f/8. You will have to increase ISO if in low light, its always a trade off, so try different settings. Make sure your shutter speed isn't too slow, use 1/focal length at the minimum.

Quote Originally Posted by schweepes
    PS - this is James

Hi James []

I am just beginning to learn about photography. And these are my first ever pics taken that aren't on auto-mode lol

If it's not Auto-mode, how did you make these shots? I asume AV-priority with auto ISO?

Quote Originally Posted by scalesusa
    set your camera in AI servo mode and use Autofocus