Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: EF 14mm F2.8L II

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

EF 14mm F2.8L II

Not quite two years ago when I got my first 5D Mark II, I thought I needed a wide angle lens. Not really knowing much about wide angle I choose the 14mm. When I got it and tried it...it scared me. I was not expecting this kind of width or distortion. I studied about it and used it a few days and then packed it up and sent it back, and got the 16-35mm II instead. I was not ready.......

Now fast foward ahead from early 2009 to Now.....After all this time I look back at these pictures and think maybe I am ready to try it again. The diffrence between 14mm and 16mm doesn't sound like much, but it can be huge...maybe I should trade the 16-35mm off and get one again....maybe...maybe I am ready now.... it wouldn't take much to push me over the edge and buy it...MAYBE someone can talk me out of this madness...

Here are a few samples of what I shot with the 14mm in 2009 ....

[img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/550x0/__key/CommunityServer-Components-UserFiles/00-00-00-47-09/SamNoble1.JPG[/img][img]/resized-image.ashx/__size/550x0/__key/CommunityServer-Components-UserFiles/00-00-00-47-09/SamNoble2.JPG[/img]

Re: EF 14mm F2.6L II

Hey Hawk,

The widest lens I own is the 10-22mm on a 7D, which is 16mm at its widest, and I usually use at 11 or 12mm, so I agree with you that 2mm makes a difference. The question would be whether you would like to make a $1000 deposit into your camera bag, after selling your 16-35mm. It seems like you have enough other lenses that you wouldn't really miss the 16-35mm. It's really an expensive, specialty lens, so it depends if you would rather put that money towards a new 5D3 when it comes out.

It seems like Canon will be coming out with a lot of new toys in 2011, so I would probably wait.

Maybe you should rent it for 4 days for $70 to get it out of your system.