Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to Photography - Macro Lens Advice Needed!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

New to Photography - Macro Lens Advice Needed!

I am very new to photography and this site. I just bought a Canon EOS Rebel T1i camera and I am ready to expand my lens collection from the two kit lenses it came with. I have narrowed my macro lens decision down to two and cannot decide which is best....the Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 L IS USM Macro or the Tamron AF 180mm f/3.5 Di SP A/M FEC LD (IF) Macro. Of course,great bokeh is very important and other than the fact I like the $300 difference going with the Tamron but this one does not have IS. I am not fond of using a tripod, will not having IS be a major issue with getting good shots??????

I also am looking at getting the Canon EF 300mm f/4.0 L IS lens and I am wondering if anyone has had any problems with this lens.

Advice greatly appreciated! []

Re: New to Photography - Macro Lens Advice Needed!

I don't have a macro lens yet, but my understanding from reading others' posts here is that IS would be very important for handheld macro work, and still may not make enough difference. I preemptively got a good tripod this week just in case. You may want to consider the same tactic.

This also leads me to suggest the Canon 100mm f/2.8 L IS, since it has the most advanced hybrid IS system in any Canon lens to date, a precursor to IS in future lenses.

Thank you so much for your quick response to my post! I value your advice and the kit I bought did come with a tripod, looks like I had better get comfortable using it ...I think it's going to end up having to be my new companion! []

Quote Originally Posted by ddt0725

Thank you so much for your quick response to my post! I value your advice and the kit I bought did come with a tripod, looks like I had better get comfortable using it ...I think it's going to end up having to be my new companion! [img]/emoticons/emotion-1.gif[/img]