Thread: Adventures with Camera? 50 miles! Camera gear in the Elements?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Adventures with Camera? 50 miles! Camera gear in the Elements?

HI this summer i am doing a hike in New Mexico that is 60 miles enduring all kinds of weather and the scenery is amazing from what i have heard and seen. It is an eleven man crew by urselves for two weeks hiking from 60-70 miles. I have heard many people bring Point and shoots on these and keeping them somwhat intact and having good pictures.However i am an advanced amateur photog and would like to know how i could keep my camera clean and protected from the elelments.

Note: i want to pack light due to my already 50 pound pack of clothes food gear etc.

Heres what i have :

rebel XT

kit lens

gitzo tripod

remote release

crappy lightweight tripod

Tamron 70-300

more but those are basics
    • I want to know if anyone has suggestions as to the idea of bringing a SMALL pelican case to waterproof my XT sounds and buying a used XT to bring instead from ebay instead of mine just in case of damage? Is this recommended or should i purchase a point and shoot? Other suggestions?

Re: Adventures with Camera? 50 miles! Camera gear in the Elements?

I say improvise when space and weight is a concern. Get a nicely padded pouch for each lens and then pack the body in a ziplock bag with a pack of silica gel to keep the moisture out. Wrap the ziplock in a fleece or something (you should have one along since desert nights are somewhat chilly) and it'll be fairly well protected and will stay dry. I did the same with my XT body last year and it survived two days of hellish conditions in the Cascades. Everything else was soaked - including me - but the camera survived quite nicely.