Thread: Wedding Settings...

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Wedding Settings...

Hey everyone!

I'm a bit new to the wedding scene and I am assisting another photographer for this wedding season. I'm shooting with my Canon EOS 7D but really would like to upgrade a FF camera (in addition to my 7D, I don't want to get rid of my 7D right now as it's a great camera! My fear is, though, as I've seen from the wedding last week, that the 7D is just way too noisy. First of all... the glass I own is as follows: EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L II USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM. I used to have so many more lenses but sold them for various reasons. What I'm interested in is getting a 1D MK IV or a 5D Mark II (preferably the latter) as my main body. Keep in mind that I have a 580EXII and a 430EXII as well. I really want my photos to have a minimal amount of noise, and easy to shoot. Does anyone have any suggestions on flash settings for me to use? Also, with my 7D & 16-35mm f/2.8, I was shooting at ISO 2000 in the chapel at shutters speeds of 1/80sec @ around f/3.5-f/4 and was getting noise and blur! I'd like to reduce both... I suppose I could have done f/2.8 at 1/125sec, but the ISO wouldn't change and the DOF would be thinner... what do you all suggest I do? I'm shooting my second wedding with him this coming Saturday and would like to give him some better photos. Below are a few of the photos I took. Keep in mind the third image there actually has Lightroom noise-reduction and sharpening applied to it.... that's the only that saves it from being terrible. Honestly, I know I can do better... I don't think these are good at all. I am getting paid fairly well for helping him and I want to earn my money. I don't normally have problems with portraits or sports (or landscapes) but... here I'm having a big problem finding the good settings/light/lens/camera etc.... I know that a FF or APS-H body would help, but until I can afford one, what ca