Thread: fusing old with new?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

fusing old with new?

Ok this may sound rediculouse, but i am new to all of this, and i have a burning question.

my dad has an old Minolta SRT-101 (film) camera. I am wondering if anyone knows of a way to adapt new canon lenses to this old camera. I don't know if they make adapters, or if this is just not possible. if anyone has any idea, or has herd of this, I would love to hear your feedback. It would be just awesome to use some of my new lenses on his old camera.

Thanks!

Re: fusing old with new?

Quote Originally Posted by Tallywho

my dad has an old Minolta SRT-101 (film) camera. I am wondering if anyone knows of a way to adapt new canon lenses to this old camera. I don't know if they make adapters, or if this is just not possible.

First, I think it would make a lot more sense to just fish an old Canon film camera out of a dumpster somewhere. People are literally throwing them away. Sometimes they try to sell them for $5 first ($20 for a really good one), but either way you should have no trouble getting one. You can even buy a top of the line 1V-series film camera for just a few hundred bucks.

Second, with the correct optical adapter, it would be possible. If they do exist, then they probably cost at least $200 and they would reduce image quality greatly, because they would have to have optical elements similar to a teleconverter in order to achieve infinity focus.

thanks for the incite. I will do some digging and see what i can find. thanks for the reply!

I bought a Canon 1V for $250. It is a sports car of a camera and a great lot of fun (I actually like film better than digital for the experience of shooting, still). 1Ns can be had for even cheaper. The EOS 3 cheaper yet still. They are all really fine cameras. Coupled with access to a decent scanner and you should be all set.