Thread: Help with large printing process

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help with large printing process

I'm pretty new to printing with the exception of simple 8.5 x 11's on my inkjet printer. I'm looking to print a few pictures in larger formats say 16x20 or a little larger, whatever the next few sizes are.

As for image processing to prep for printing, what needs to be done? What is a good way to check if my image will print well in a large size? What DPI should I aim for etc etc? (i'm really clueless about this stuff)

A few details about how I shoot. I use a Canon 40D and shoot in Raw. When I process the picture and save it on a disk or whatever to send it to, say Kinkos, what is the best file format?

Any help for this noobie s appreciated, thanks.

Re: Help with large printing process

Here's my understanding of this process:

A high-quality print process requires your "Document Size" resolution to be 240 pixels per inch (ppi). A 300ppi is even better. You can check the Document Size in Photoshop from "Image -> Resize -> Image Size" menu.

Your 40D makes images with the maximum size of 2592 x 3888 pixels. That means, without resizing the image, straight from the camera, your maximum printed image size can be 10.8" x 16.2"

2592p / 240ppi = 10.8"
    3888p / 240ppi = 16.2"

If you want to print it larger, then, obviously, you must resize the image in Photoshop. What's important is that you don't decrease the "Document" resolution below 240ppi.

For example, you'd like to make a 16" x 20" print. Your image resolution must be 3840 x 4800 pixels.

16" * 240ppi = 3840 pixels (height)
    20" * 240ppi = 4800 pixels (width)

Here's the resizing procedure in Photoshop (Elements or CS) that you must follow.
    In the "Resize Image" window:

*Enable "Constrain Proportions" option
    *Enable "Resample Image" option, so that the Document Resolution will remain at 240ppi
    *Select "Bicubic Smoother" option