Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Night Shots

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Best Night Shots

I'll probably be in a position to take some cityscape shots tonight (with a tripod) with my Rebel XS. What types of settings should I be looking for besides ISO 100? Long shutter, but what about aperature? Maybe just shutter priority and let the camera worry about aperature? What about a focus point?

Re: Best Night Shots

Shoot nightscape is just like shooting regular landscapes.

Yeah, I should have specified that I'm a beginner and have never shot landscapes before. I can play with the shutter and aperature, but what about a focus point. I guess if the aperature is small enough, the focus point shouldn't matter as much, correct? If it helps, I'll probably be using my 50mm f/1.4 just for the lens quality. Only other choice is 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 kit lens, but it's too soft.

I haven't done a lot of night shooting, but I would suggest think that focal length is more important than the iq difference between these lenses. If your subject is a landscape at night, it will be difficult to control your framing other than changing focal length.

David,

A good starting point would be to set your camera to Av
    (Aperture Priority) and set the f-stop to f/8. This will give you a
    fairly deep DOF but is a large enough aperture that your IQ should not be degraded due to diffraction.
    See what that gives you and go from there. If you tell me more about
    what you are shooting and what you are trying to accomplish I could
    probably give you some better advice