Thread: New kit lens for crop ánd/or fullframe

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

New kit lens for crop ánd/or fullframe

Hey TDP,

I am having a very hard time choosing a new general purpose lens. I currently have a Canon 1000D (or Rebel XS) with the 18-55 kitlens and the 55-250mm zoomlens. The AF on the kitlens is broken, sadly, which is why I want to buy a new lens to replace this one. However, it must be noted that I am able to use my dad's 5D as often as I want, since he has been using a 5D Mark II for quite some time already, which is why it is difficult for me to choose between an EF lens or an EF-S one.

I am currently studying at a university so I am not very rich and will not be able to spend much money on, for example, a new 24-105mm L lens. However, I have been looking around for affordable lenses, also 2nd hand, and there are some that caught my eye. I would like to share my thoughts on the options and would love to hear your thoughts on what you would recommend, also.

EF 17-40mm f/4.0L USM lens (2nd hand): No IS, small focal length, fixed but small aperture, sharp and L-quality built. I can use this for FF ánd crop.
    EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM lens (2nd hand if good deal): No IS, good focal length but not very wide, fixed and large aperture, sharp and L-quality built.
    EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM: IS, large focal length but not very wide, small aperture, not quite sharp in the corners on FF. This lens was not recommended to me, but what do you guys think?

EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM (2nd hand): IS, great focal length, pretty good image quality and decent build quality. However, not able to use on FF.
    EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM: IS, great focal length, fair image quality but very cheap - I could buy maybe one or two primes to add in the future.

Tamron SP AF 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD IF: Long name, but great image quality for its price. I could also buy something extra here, such as a 85mm prime.