Thread: Bag reccomendations for a student

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Bag reccomendations for a student

I'm a beginning photography student, and I'm looking for a bag. I've got a 600D with the 18-55mm kit lens and a 50mm lens. What I'd like to find is a bag that I can carry those in and have them protected while at the same time having some storage space for some school supplies as well (pens, legal pad, spiral notebook maybe a slim 3-ring binder). I'm looking for either a sling or backpack type bag, something close to a Clik Elite Impulse sling.. Ideally, I'd want a sling bag with easy access to at least my camera and storage for a notebook (of the paper variety) of some sort. However, I'm pretty sure said ideal bag doesn't exist.

At bare minimum:
    Backpack or sling
    Padding for a 600D with kit lens
    Non-camera storage

So with all that in mind, does anyone have any suggestions on where I should be looking or what I should be looking at? I appreciate any sort of help.

Look at Crumpler bags - some of the best quality and well thought out dual purpose camera bags out there in my opinion.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ben_taylor_au/ www.methodicallymuddled.wordpress.com
    Canon 5D Mark III | Canon 5D Mark II | Samyang 14mm f/2.8 | Canon 35mm f/1.4L USM | Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM |Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II |Canon 2 x Teleconverter III | Canon 580 EX II Speedlite | Really Right Stuff TVC 34L | Really Right Stuff BH55 LR | Gorillapod Focus | Really Right Stuff BH 30

I bought a cheap Kata holster for my 60D + 15-85mm. I then just chuck that bag in whatever bag I'm taking for the day.

Welcome to the forums.