Thread: Replacing my 5DMarkII

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Replacing my 5DMarkII

Question everyone!

I've been shooting on my canon 5dmk2 for about 1 1/2 years now and I recently had an issue with it (stuck pixel on the sensor) so I took it in to BBY to have it looked at under their in-store warranty. It came back from their service center unrepairable so I was issued a gift card for what I paid for the camera.

The situation I am now in is :

1. do I replace the camera with another 5dmark2

2. wait till the mark3 is announced and put what I have towards it and pay the difference

I shoot as a hobby , so it's not like this is a source of income for me...so I could wait...I just don't know if I'll be able to go 6 months - 1 year without a camera :\

What are your thoughts?

Re: Replacing my 5DMarkII

Quote Originally Posted by hippoeater
    ...so I could wait...I just don't know if I'll be able to go 6 months - 1 year without a camera :\

I don't know the meaning of them horrible words! One day, maybe two, without a camera -- fine. But more than 2 days!? Of course you must have a camera. Personally, I would just make it another 5D2, but if you're willing to go a year (or more) without it, you might consider getting a T3i in the mean time. It's not much money, and will serve as a nice backup camera to the 5D3.

+1 to what Daniel said. If you watch this site and others and contribute, buy something and continue shooting.

The 5D2 is still a fine camera, they are still selling heaps of them. I think it would be very hard to drop from the 5D2 to something else, but the suggestion above would work well, if you wanted to end up with two cameras in your bag.

Another thought, you haven
    Steve U
    Wine, Food and Photography Student and Connoisseur

I currently only have 2 lenses in my camera bag -

zeiss planar *T 50mm 1.4

canon 70-200mm f2.8 is usm ii

I was just about to purchase the canon 35mm 1.4l when this happened