Thread: I am sure it is a dumb quenstion but I could use your help....

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

I am sure it is a dumb quenstion but I could use your help....

OK, so thanks to the advise of all of you i decided to go and get a70-200L f/4 IS for my zoom as a kit to my 40D. I have 17-85 IS and will be also getting 50mm some time soon.

Dumb question: I am very new to SLR and to photography in general, and I do not know how would I be able to tell if the lens I purchase is good...

If I only "play" with my camera at this time, very slowly learning, what would be the best way to test this lens to make sure it is not defective in any way?

Do you think I should wait until I get better with my skills...which may not happen until next century[:'(]

Or should I just go for it knowing this kind of lens is generally good and reliable?

Or is there an easy way to tell there is something wrong with it?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance and I apologize if this is too dumb for this forum[:$] I have nowhere else to go...

Re: I am sure it is a dumb quenstion but I could use your help....

Put camera and lens on a tripod. Shoot a scene that would show focus errors (i.e. at least three objects, one straight ahead of the lens, one closer and to the left, one farther and to the right) that will not move (concrete, glass, wood - no fabrics that will blow) at apertures from f/22 to wide open at one-stop intervals. Take those pictures using mirror lockup and 2-second or 10-second timer. Look for focus errors as your shots approach wide-open, and other than a mild loss of sharpness/clarity in the corners (you'll have to read reviews to know how much to expect) you should be expecting crisp photos all the way to wide-open.