Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1D Mark IV or new 70-200

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

1D Mark IV or new 70-200

I am a visual journalist and I am trying to decided on which item to upgrade first, so I figured I would ask for some opinions. Currently I have a 5D Mk.II and a 7D for my bodies and I would say I use the 7D 90% of the time being a VJ I rarely do anything other than sports or news related shoots. I also have a Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L USM Lens. I am in a position where I could go either way and get the Canon EOS 1D Mark IV Digital SLR or the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM Lens. The price would equate to being about the same as I would sell my 7D however my older 70-200 would be handed to one of my colleague.

So the question remains if you had the choice between switching a 7D for a 1D Mark IV or the two lenses which would it be for you?

Re: 1D Mark IV or new 70-200

if you are satisfied with your 7D and 70-200mm2.8, I would not suggest you to upgrade ether the 1DIV or the 70-2002.8II, I will get 135mm 2.0(for indoor sports) and 300mm 4.0IS or 400mm 5.6(for outdoor), just my 2 cents.

I
    Canon 450D Gripped, Canon 24-105 f/4L, Canon 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM II, Sigma 10-20 EX f/4-5.6, Canon S95

“There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer.” -Ansel Adams

7d is pretty good on its own, i'd get the glass, same as elmo said.

I would think your biggest jump in IQ would be the new 70-200mm 2.8L

Interesting story, the local camera store supplies the local paper here in town with cameras. My salesman told me that the paper didn