Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 400 f5.6, 100-400, 500 f4 or mortgage? +views on prices returning to pre-crunch levels?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

400 f5.6, 100-400, 500 f4 or mortgage? +views on prices returning to pre-crunch levels?

This thread is partly a bit of fun and partly serious, as I keep trying to pursuade myself that I've spent enough on this hobby for the next 5 years. But somehow I've found that I'm not listening to myself.

I currently
    have a 5DII, 24-70, 70-200 f2.8 IS and 2x Extender. I would like
    something longer and keep drooling over the 500 f4. But mostly it's
    done in the way most people drool over expensive sports cars - ie I
    doubt I'll ever buy it. The trouble is I'm not very good at that - I
    tend not to bother looking at something lots if there's no way I could
    ever afford it (ie, I don't find myself pouring over the Veyron specs
    as a potential purchaser might). The sad truth is that I could afford
    the 500 f4 - it would probably just be a rather foolish thing to buy.

I
    also keep looking at the 100-400. But I've read mixed things about it.
    And having used the 2x Extender with my 70-200 I really don't think
    400mm is enough on full-frame. I also don't like the idea of
    duplicating most of the range of my 70-200 - it just seems pointless.
    Also, having had excellent results cropping very, very heavily with the
    5DII's 21MP sensor on the 70-200, I'd like to be able to do that with
    the 100-400 - but, having found that this isn't really possible with
    the 2x Extender (which I almost never use now), I'm wary of trying to
    do the same thing with the 100-400.

I guess I could go for the
    400 f5.6, although I dislike the fact that it has no IS. Even so, I
    could probably then crop to my heart's content if it really is
    significantly sharper than the 100-400. But still, I've read 1DIII