Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lens suggestion on 5d

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Lens suggestion on 5d

hi all,

I just got myself a canon 5d mark 1 and have yet to get a lens for it. I have been shooting film for 3 years on a nikonFE, 50mmf1.8, iso 100-400 and i love it. sometimes, i do find myself in lowlight situations when i am not able to achieve the shot, hence i think i need a fast lens(f2.8?). I usually shoot street, night, people, lil landscape and would be doing weddings. I like to shoot wide/low light but i think a flash is a bit intrusive&distracting but i think i'll eventually get to that. Any 3rd party prime/zoom lens is fine, preferably not a L lens as i can't afford it right now. I know one lens cant do all, so i'm guessing bout 2-3lens, i'd do fine, but i would like to know which lens should i get first and eventually get to getting the next lens. I've been looking at canon, Sigma, tamron and they all tells me that their f2.8 lens are always soft at their widest. is it really that unbearable? Please gimme some suggestions. Thanks!

and one more point, is it worth it to get an adaptor for my 50mmf1.8 or should i just get a canon ef50f1.8mark2?

Cheers!

Re: Lens suggestion on 5d

Mr. Rag,

Put a Tamron 28-75 f2.8 DI on your 5D. Excellent lens.

Bryans copy wasn't as good as this one: http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/49/cat/23 thier comments when comparing to the EF 24-70 f2.8: "As if to raise a few eyebrows, the Tamron lens is actually a hair sharper than the Canon competition, across all apertures and focal lengths."