Thread: Is such an 1Dv camera PROFITABLE? (See if I'm making sense!)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Is such an 1Dv camera PROFITABLE? (See if I'm making sense!)

I'm new here, and relatively new to looking at Canon DSLRs, but not new to photography. I majored in Fine Art Photography and mostly shot with 8x10 view cameras. Now, not only is Canon improving their TS-E lenses' functionality, but digital image quality and pixel count in DSLR-sized sensors are rapidly heading for a realm higher than most photojournalists, event, or portrait photographers even care about. This is fine art territory!

The second feature a starving artists needs, after big, beautiful image quality, is low cost. I don't think these two features have to be at odds with each other. How cheaply could a body be sold with a top quality, 30+MP sensor and all the functionality of a wood field camera minus the movements (essentially a box)?

I'm used to tripods, so it doesn't need high ISO settings. I take care of my equipment, so it doesn't need to be rugged. I'm used to carrying a big camera, several film holders, spot meter, etc., so it doesn't need to be lightweight or compact. View camera "burst rate" would be measured in sheets per MINUTE, so it doesn't need to be fast. View cameras don't have any in-camera metering. TS-E lenses cannot use autofocus. Fine art workflows don't require JPEG engines, wireless file transfers, etc. View cameras cannot shoot video--I'm a still photographer after all! View cameras don't have microphones or record EXIF data--we just write notes. Etc., etc. . .