Thread: First attempt at black and white!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

First attempt at black and white!

sorry about this i sized the images wrong.

Hi there everyone!

So this is my first attempt at Black and White photos, with the mono chromatic setting on my 50D . Let me know what you think.

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.77/leaf-1.jpg[/img]

1/500 sec @ f/2.8
    70mm
    ISO 500
    EF24-70mm f/2.8L USM

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.77/leaf-2.jpg[/img]

1/500 sec @ f/2.8
    63mm
    ISO 400
    EF24-70mm f/2.8L USM

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.77/leaf-3.jpg[/img]

1/500 sec @ f/2.8
    63mm
    ISO 400
    EF24-70mm f/2.8L USM

[img]/cfs-file.ashx/__key/CommunityServer.Components.UserFiles/00.00.00.37.77/leaf-4.jpg[/img]

1/500 sec @ f/2.8
    63mm
    ISO 400
    EF24-70mm f/2.8L USM

Re: First attempt at black and white!

Good choice of subject for a B&W: lots of opportunity to show texture and tonal contrast. Overall they are good. I like the last one best. Personally, I think I would have preferred deeper DOF, but isn't that always the case with macro? []

I find the depth of field a little distracting. The texture of the leaves is the great part of the photo, so I hate to see so much of it lost.

I'm really sorry but I'm gonna steal your idea [:P]Love the abstractness of them, definitely going to try something myself. Looks cool! DOF is great I must say, I don't think you had the intention to show us a leaf, but to make an abstract picture right?"macrostyle [H]"