Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: photography courses

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

photography courses

Hello everyone, I'm new to photography and have a general question. Is it beneficial to spend money on photography classes or are you of the opinion that practice and lots of it makes you a better photographer. I'm currently using a 40d and 5d mk2 with 16-35L and 24-105L and plan to get the 100L macro very soon. My interest are generally landscape and floral types of photos. Your opinion is much appreciated

spud

Re: photography courses

Honestly, I'd say online forums targeted to your interests are a great start. Yes, it's always beneficial to learn from a pro. However, you might want to exhaust all your free and/or cheap avenues before shelling out your hard-earned money for a photography class. Join a few floral or landscape groups on flickr. Buy books from photographers you admire (much cheaper than taking a course, and you can learn on your own time). Then make time to do whatever you've learned.

Quote Originally Posted by Sean Setters

However, you might want to exhaust all your free and/or cheap avenues before shelling out your hard-earned money for a photography class. Join a few floral or landscape groups on flickr. Buy books from photographers you admire (much cheaper than taking a course, and you can learn on your own time). Then make time to do whatever you've learned.
    <div style="clear: both;"]</div>

Any books you'd recommend as must-reads? Anything you personally loved? I'd rather read on my own than take an online course, but looking through Amazon's inventory is overwhelming. Thanks!