Thread: Lens front element diameter

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Lens front element diameter

I don't understand why the Canon 70-200 2.8 has a filter size of 77mm while the 200 2.8 has a filter size of 72mm. At identical apertures/focal lengths wouldn't they need the same size front element?

Re: Lens front element diameter

Guess not...

By the way these aren't the same kind of lenses. You compare a zoom vs a prime. They will probably have different setups with types of glass that might differ as well. Also there has to be done some internal zooming, so all those things can change a lens.

And of course, probably the smaller=lighter=less product=cheaper?

I'm just thinking and so guessing, but I do think you can't compare them as being the same while having one focal length/aperture in common while having other options as well.

Jan

The length of the lens body may play into the engineering, I'm no scientist but I did have hyper focal cheerios for breakfast.

-Shea

Quote Originally Posted by deviousalex

I don't understand why the Canon 70-200 2.8 has a filter size of 77mm while the 200 2.8 has a filter size of 72mm. At identical apertures/focal lengths wouldn't they need the same size front element?

Clearly not... [:P]