Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on New or Used Camera

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Advice on New or Used Camera

Hi,

I have been shooting for several years now with an old RebelXT. The primary lens I use is the 70-200 2.8 IS. I mostly shoot indoor and outdoor sports and activities and family pictures. Indoor is frequently in low/lower available light which means I have to shoot at 800 or 1600 to stop the action with my XT. At 1600 the shots are not very good.

I NEED an upgrade!! so now for the question; With prices on good used 1D Mark II N's dropping close to the range of a 50D it seems like I might get much better results with a II N vs something like a 50D or a 40D. I can afford the added cost of a good used II N but the new Mark III is out of my price range. I want a fast burst rate to capture action shots.

What I care about;

Getting good sharp high quality shots, don't mind post processing.

What I don't care about;

Size/weight

Thanks in advance!!

Re: Advice on New or Used Camera

Why the 1Dn?Just go for the plain 1D mk 2. The differences are a larger lcd, some picture modes a la xxD series, a slightly better buffer and dual card writing on an SD and CF cards. The sensor, Digic and everything else are the same on the two.Or grab a 40D and grip, which works just fine for sports indoors and outdoors.

One other question? Do you use a monopod?

I was actually talking about the 1D Mark 2 N, sorry for the confusion. I've heard that the 1D M2 N is outstanding for sports photography. I do use a monopod on my 70-200 lens.

I know a lot of sports guys using the 40D. I don't know why but haven't seen too many with the 50D yet.

One guy actually has 1D mkII but prefers his 40D over it. Don't know the specifics just passing along my observations.