Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canon 17-55mm vs 24-70mm

Canon 17-55mm vs 24-70mm

Hi, I am new owner of a Canon XSI, and new to digital SLRs. I purchased the XSI from costco-it came as a kit w/a 18-55mm and 55-250mm lenses. I'e played around with the kit lenses, and have started buying other lenses-better lenses. So far I have in my hands is a canon 10-22mm, and am waiting for my 70-200mm f/4Lnon IS to arrive. I am looking for a good walk around to add to my arsenal. I am a volunteer firefighter, so I need a lense on my camera for a quick shot when we first arrive to something exciting, that can capture just about anything in various lighting conditions. Since I am covered on the wide side, and the zoom side-can anyone help me on the middle??? I have read about both of these lenses...but I am torn as to which to choose from. I do like the L lense on the 24-70...help...Cathy

Re: Canon 17-55mm vs 24-70mm

I'd suggest reading the posts on this recent thread.

HiCathy,

I've been through same process a few months ago. Ultimatly, I picked the Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L USM.

- I like the solid feeling of the 24-70. Yes, it is on the heavy side and out of balance mounted on one of those Rebels, but you feel you have some proper tools in your hands. I take care of my stuff, but its solidness is some extra reassurance.
    - I'd rather have to extra focal length (compared to the kit lens) at the long than the wide end. I got the wide end covered with a 10-20 Sigma. In the time I've been using this lens I got feeling that my composition has improved because I can't simply go wide and just snap a shot.
    - My next camera will be a camera with a full frame or 1.3 crop factor sensor. Optics generally hold their value well, but I don't like the 'hassle' of selling the 17-55 f/2.8 when upgrading.

I hope this helps,

Joël

It seems to be the eternal debate once again... But nevertheless, I'll try to give some thoughts on the choice.

I