Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sigma for Nikon 400mm f/5.6. Can I convert to Canon?

Sigma for Nikon 400mm f/5.6. Can I convert to Canon?

I have a photography buddy who owns this lens. He is a Nikon shooter from way back, and this is the first telephoto he ever bought. It is almost unused, and appears to be in pristine condition. He bought a Nikon 80-400 zoom shortly thereafter and just didn't pick up the Sigma any more. He knows I am just getting into photography, and wasn't sure if it was possible to convert, but said if I could do it, he would sell me the lens for $200-300. He still has the receipts, and it cost him $850 when he bought it.

Is there such a thing as a Nikon to Canon lens mount converter?

Re: Sigma for Nikon 400mm f/5.6. Can I convert to Canon?

Quote Originally Posted by HiFiGuy1
    Is there such a thing as a Nikon to Canon lens mount converter?

Possibly, but you have to be aware that the resulting lens may not focus at infinity (not nice for a super telephoto) and will not autofocus.

Why would it not focus at infinity? What does that mean for me practically? I suspected it might not AF. My friend and I talked about that. I think that is a limitation I could live with.

Check out this thread on photo.net.

Looks like Fotodiox at least has one that guarantees focus to infinity, and converts Nikon F to Canon EOS. No autofocus, which I guess isn't a deal-breaker, but how would one adjust the aperture if the camera can't do it? What is "stop-down mode"?

Also, for an extra $60, you can get "focus confirmation". It doesn't sound like AF compatibility, but what is it exactly?