Thread: Canon EF 70-210 f/3.5-4.5 USM

Canon EF 70-210 f/3.5-4.5 USM

A few months ago I ran this threadlooking for a telephoto lens on a budget. I spent hours agonizing over different lens choices and settled on an old used lens, the Canon EF 70-210 f/3.5-4.5 USM. I figure Bryan will never review it as it is out of production and new announcements keep him plenty busy. I thought I would post a few pictures and thoughts so that we have a "knowledge base" about the lens around here.

Disclaimer: I am no Pro. The nicest lens I own/use is the Sigma 150mm f/2.8 Macro. I say that because I cannot compare this lens to L series equipment. I also warn you that the pictures below are not of the highest quality. I only have 800x??? editions of the images at the moment, but I will link to the full raw files when I get them online.

Now for my comments.

First, I am impressed with the AF. It is an absolutely silent, quick, and accurate, edition which is especially impressive as I shoot on an XTi.

Second, There is some vignetting as you can see in the all blue picture below on a 1.6x, but it isn't noticeable unless the corners are solid colors.

Third, it is a little soft, however I think it is better than my 28-105 f/3.5-4.5 II USM in that regard, though not by much.

Fourth, you will notice some CA in 100% crops such as the ORACLE plane below. This is a larger negative than with other lenses because DPP does not have a lens profile for this lens. (Can you create a custom one?)

Fifth, it takes some work to get a nice blur background because of the small minimum aperture (small size, large number, whatever[]) but when you do get it I find it pleasing. See the picture of the flower below.

Sixth, the Maximum Magnification is not all that great due to a 1.2 meter minimum focusing distance.