Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Decision finally made (I think) I which two lenses to buy - Being a newbie, I hope I made the right choices! Feedback appreciated!

Decision finally made (I think) I which two lenses to buy - Being a newbie, I hope I made the right choices! Feedback appreciated!

After many weeks of reading review after review and taking everyone's replies from my last post about Macro's and ISinto consideration, I think I have finally made up my mind!!

I have decided on two Canon lenses for my newly owned Canon RebelT1i- the EF 100mm f/2.8 L IS USM Macro and the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM Lens (if I don't sway back to the 300mm f/4.0 L IS USM)!

I haven't pushed the "Buy" button yet, so any feedback on my two choices extremely appreciated []

Thanks (and Happy Holidays),

Denise

Re: Decision finally made (I think) I which two lenses to buy - Being a newbie, I hope I made the right choices! Feedback appreciated!

OK, I'm so glad I am the first to reply to your post, I need to change your mind!![]

You have to get the ef 300mm f/4l is usm.

It is better than the 100-400 for sports. It is A TON sharper. It has faster AF. It has better image quality overall. It has a built-in lens hood. It is half super telephoto, half macro. The 300 focuses at 5'.

I have tried both lenses. Most people shoot at the extremes of the zoom range. At 100mm, your 100mm f/2.8 macro will produce signifigantly better quality. People who switch from the 100-400 to the 300 are amazed. People who switch from the 300 to the 100-400 are disappointed, wondering what happened to the image quality they were used to. If you are thinking about the 100-400, you must be thinking about sports and wildlife. The 300 is arguably far superior in both of these categories.

GET THE 300. sorry, i just have a strong opinion here [:P]

brendan

Re: Decision finally made (I think) I which two lenses to buy - Being a newbie, I hope I made the right choices! Feedback appreciated!