Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: YIPPEE!!! I did it, I finally decided and ordered a new macro and a telephoto lens!!! Thank you for all your advice!

YIPPEE!!! I did it, I finally decided and ordered a new macro and a telephoto lens!!! Thank you for all your advice!

After weeks of debate and fantastic advice from everyone here on this forum, I just ordered two lenses! I ordered the Canon Ef 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro and the Canon Ef 300mm f/4.0 L IS USM lens and the Canon Extender Ef 1.4x.

I am sooo thrilled and even paid the extra $ for 3 day deliver ...hopefully I can wait that long!!

Thanks to all that commented on my previous posts. All advice giving played heavily into my decision making process!

Wish me luck at learning how to use my new investments! Since I'm new to photography, this should be interesting!

Denise []

Re: YIPPEE!!! I did it, I finally decided and ordered a new macro and a telephoto lens!!! Thank you for all your advice!

Congrats on the new purchase, those are good lenses. You'll enjoy them.

One questions, what happened to the 100-400? []

Re: YIPPEE!!! I did it, I finally decided and ordered a new macro and a telephoto lens!!! Thank you for all your advice!

Don't get me started or I will start researching again...lol! You have no idea how much I debated back and forth on those two! I came up with that most said the quality is better with a non-zoom (debatable I'm sure). I truly wanted a zoom lens until I read that over and over plus I thought a 4.0 would be better than a 4.5-5.6, granted I loss with theteleconverter. Heck, I'm so new at this, I probably wouldn't notice a difference! [8-)]

Please someone ...tell me the 300mm f/4.0 L IS is a better choice than the 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS so I can sleep better tonight [:|]

I need a glass of wine [:P]

Denise

The 300 f/4 IS a better choice. don't worry so much, any canon L lens is gonna be at least GOOD.

I ordered the 4/300 saturday.

You won't regret it.[H]

brendan