Thread: Canon EOS 450D Lenses

Canon EOS 450D Lenses

Hello,

I am new to the photography field, and very much interested in this field, As a beginner, RecentlyI brought Canon EOS 450D + 18-55 IS lens ,and I liked it very much.

Now I am thinking of upgrading the lens to a professional one. (and would like to keep my 450D)

Could you please share your experience ..

I am interested in

1. General photography

2. Landscapes/Nature/flowers

3. Family photos

After reviewing many websites and forums, Istuckwith2 lenses( Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM and Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens)

From experienced reviews ,I think 24-70 is more professional one but I am concerned about few things

1. 24-70

1a. Does it suits my EOS 450D?

1c.As this is heavy, does it damage my 450D ?

2. 17-55

2a.Does it suits my EOS 450D?

2b. Heard that this is dust catching one

Could you please share your experienceand suggest good professional lens for my EOS 450D

Thanks in advance

regards

Alge

Re: Canon EOS 450D Lenses

Hey Alge,

welcome to the world of photography.

It looks to me that you don't really have a lot of experience. Why do you want such an expensive lens anyway? It's only good when you know how to handle it.

First of all...the 24-70 is really a lens for the top-photographers. Build quality is extremely high for extraordinary use. Not the kind of build quality most people need. Second, yes it is real heavy. Without a battery-grip I wouldn't recommend it on your 450D. It wouldn't break it, but handling isn't really good in my opinion.

The 17-55 IS USM is way better for your kind of use. It got IS, which is really nice. Image-quality is really really good. I didn't compare it to the 24-70, but to my other L-lens (70-200) and the 17-55 is really sharp.