Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: C&C for First Time Shoot

C&C for First Time Shoot

Just got myself a 580EX II hours before this shoot and I'm totally new with this flash. Used it bare and as is. Though I think I adjusted FEC by +1. Here are two of my best (IMHO) I was hoping you can give your C&C and probably some tips and notes for improvement. Post-processing was very minimal.

Thanks for viewing.

50mm, f/8, 1/125sec, ISO 200 (We were able to use this photo as an invitation layout where the blank space was used for the invitation details)

50mm, f/2.8, 1/80 sec, ISO 200

Thank you!
    Cheers!
    --
    AnGelo Chiu (MrGreenBug in Flickr), Blog: http://mrgreenbug.blogspot.com

Re: C&C for First Time Shoot

Mr. Greenbug,

They look great. Honestly. I never would have guessed you picked up that light only a few hours before hand. I'm assuming you're working with it on camera which is cool. Off camera comes later

Right off the bat, it looks like you know what you're doing. (which is good because I don't know what I'm doing half the time! haha). I see no hard shadows which leads me t believe that you bounced the flash off the ceiling or wall. (I'm betting on wall, because I see some variations in the light gradient from side to side. Let me know if I'm right! )

The posing is nice in both photos too! It's hard focusing (pun very much intended) on more than one aspect of a shot at a time. My posing went to crap when I introduced intentional lighting to my shots.

Good job!

- Rodger

Quote Originally Posted by Rodger

They look great. Honestly. I never would have guessed you picked up that light only a few hours before hand. I'm assuming you're working with it on camera which is cool. Off camera comes later