Thread: Newbie question....

Newbie question....

I really enjoy viewing everyone's photos on here.....kit lense or not. I am not a professional photographer or am trying to become one...kit lense owner here.

My question is...are most of the pictures postedonthis forumor photos in general enhanced in any way by a computer program?Or isenhancing just something that is done out of need...which might be always? Do most photographers enhance all their photos in some little way?

Just curious.....keep up the good work!!!

keller

Re: Newbie question....

I've slowly made the transition over to shooting RAW so I have to at
    least process my image into a .jpeg. Rarely do I do more than just
    mess with the raw settings (i.e. settings that could have been set in
    camera) such as sharpness, contrast, b/w, sat. other than that I
    usually only touch brightness otherwise. It may sound like it's alot
    of processing but again it's all potential in camera settings (with the
    exception of brightness since having to do that means I didn't shoot
    exactly what I wanted).

~Jordan
    7d w/ BG-E7, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS II

keller, not all the pictures you see are post processed - excluding conversion from RAW to JPEG. But *I* think that a simple rule is: if you see a steller picture, then it probably *is* post processed.

Quote Originally Posted by keller
    My question is...are most of the pictures postedonthis forumor photos in general enhanced in any way by a computer program?

Yes. Some rely on the computer inside the camera to do the enhancement, others control the enhancement themselves with a full fledged computer. Some do very minor enhancements (saturation, tone curve, sharpening), others do more changes.

Quote Originally Posted by keller
    Do most photographers enhance all their photos in some little way?