Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Product photography Help!

Product photography Help!

Hi everyone,
    I am quite new to all this, doing a degree in design and photography is a big part and a amateur hobby of mine.
    I work for a shop and have been asked to take product shots for selling online.
    these photographs must be very good quality and full of detail and can be of anything from jewellery to clothing!

I have a Canon 450D just with the kit lens but want to get a better lens for product photography!

Help Please! Thanks!!

Woah, open-ended request!

I think you'll find lighting and backdrops may make as-much or more difference to the final outcome. What's the target medium? Even a kit lens can shoot a perfectly adequate shot if it's going to be reduced to 1024x768 and viewed on the web.

The size of the product will dictate the lens you want to use. Obviously I'm not going to use a super telephoto to shoot pictures of engagement rings.

edit: rereading your post I see you've got objects of all sizes to shoot. With that I think I'd lean towards a macro lens. They're sharp and don't HAVE to be used at macro distances.

I'll defer to someone with experience shooting objects whether you want a longer focal length or shorter (maybe the distortion on larger objects will not be appealing) but if you can get away with short focal lengths the EF-S 60 mm is a nice macro lens for your body's sensor size - less than $500 US.
    Last edited by ChadS; 03-08-2012 at 06:29 PM.

A macro lens would be a good choice, either the EF-S 60mm f/2.8 or one of the EF 100mm f/2.8 lenses (L or non-L depending on budget). Better yet, if budget permits, a TS-E 90mm f/2.8 would be great. The advantage of a TS-E lens over a macro lens is that you can get a deeper depth of field without using an extremely narrow aperture, as discussed here.