Thread: Contemplating a Printer

Contemplating a Printer

So i've been shooting for a few years, mostly sharing online and such, never printing big (only occasionally printing small, using my local photolab, which is also one of the last places around here that develops film).

As I've nearly gotten myself setup in the new house, I'm starting to contemplate buying a photo printer. Firstly, I've never had any printer before, let alone a proper photo one. The only one i've erer really used belonged to my parents, an HP Deskjet 550C back with their 386, cost them $1500 or something (they replaced it when it was cheaper to buy a new printer than replace the ink cartridges).

I've been reading up on various models, mostly today over at Imaging Resource. I never realised they could be *that* complicated (although I knew there'd be some sort of learning curve to them). For instance i'd never heard of the difference between Dye (Pixma Pro100) and Pigment (Pro1 and Pro10) inkjet (it's all inkjet to me), and I had read about Dye Sublimation years ago when it was first introduced but don't know much about how well it works lately.

So, first question, are DyeSub printers worth it? All I can find (on B&H) seem to be 4x6 and not much bigger. If anyone can recommend a good one to throw into the mix of options feel free.

Otherwise, my options are hovering around the good Epson and Canon models, namely (B&H Prices, aussie prices will probably be a lot more):

Pixma Pro1, $1000, Pigment Ink, 12x $35/tank (which looks huge compared to other cartridges).
    Pixma Pro10, $700, Pigment Ink, 10x $15/cartridge.
    Pixma Pro100, $410, Dye Ink, 8x $17/cartridge.
    Stylus R3000, $790, Pigment Ink, 9x $32/cartridge.
    Stylus R2880, $600, Pigment Ink, 8x $14/cartridge.
    Stylus R2000, $590, Pigment Ink, 8x $22/cartridge.