Thread: How to get an emergency backup photographer for a wedding?

How to get an emergency backup photographer for a wedding?

Hi all,

I am new to my city and new to wedding photography, so I don't really know that many other photographers. I am starting to book weddings for next summer, but like having a backup camera body, I know it is necessary to have a back up photographer (not a second shooter) lined up incase the unthinkable happens on the client's big day and I can't make it.

Problem is, I don't really know where to go to find a good backup shooter. Are there specific associations or forums that allow for these types of contacts to be made? I live in Michigan if that helps at all.

Re: How to get an emergency backup photographer for a wedding?

Hmm very good question. I have no idea.

I would check out local photographers. Perhaps some local photocommunities and clubs. But you really need to have good understandings, since at the worst of times you could have to call them the morning they need to shoot [A] And obviously you must like their work and be certain you can forward them to your clients, quality-wise.

Pff that's one hard quest for you. I have to shoot some weddings this year, but I never thought about that...

Re: How to get an emergency backup photographer for a wedding?