Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Need advice on lens choices

Need advice on lens choices

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and was wondering if someone(s) could help me choose between theCanon EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L IS USM & theCanon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

I am an amateur photographer and upgrading to a 50D from a Digital Rebel and will also be purchasing aCanon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM - I am leaning towards the 70-200mm

I mostly shoot landscape, architecture, moving water like waterfalls and special effects like motion trails from car lights at night.

I realize that they are very different but would love any feedback.

Thank you...

quattrophinia

[]

Re: Need advice on lens choices

I'd definately get the 70-200/4 IS

:-)

I agree. If for no other reason, choose the "L"lens becauseit is commonly accepted that a lens witha smaller ratio between focal lengthswill bebetter.

The 70-200 f/4 L IS really *is* the best zoom Canon makes, in terms of both overall sharpness and performance. I still regret selling my last one - so much for doing friends favours....

The 70-200 f/4 L IS hands down. I have a 50D, the 17-55 f/2.8 IS and the 70-200 f/2.8 L IS and it's a great combo. However, I will advise that you get the 17-55 first. Honestly, the 17-55 stays on my camera about 90% of the time. The focal range tends to be a hell of alot more useful than the long reach of the 70-200 when paired with a crop sensor. Don't get me wrong, the 70-200 produces great pictures, but its extra long reach tends to be a downside for my kind of shooting. When reach is needed, it's a fantastic tool to have. However, from what you've said, I think you'll probably get the more use out of the 17-55 like I do.

I like to shoot some of the same stuff, and use a wide angle lens alot, think about the 10-22 zoom, I would alway choose a "L series lens" ie 70-200mm over any non-L series, after getting two, a 24-105 L and a 100-400 L, I put by old lens in the closet and have not used them since.