Thread: 7D Tracking & Focus.

7D Tracking & Focus.

Hello All,

I have been browsing this forum for several months and loving every minute of it! Thanks to everyone for building such a great resource!This is my first post, I have a 7D with 70-200 f/4, 24-105, and the 50 1.8. I moved up to the 7D from a XT then XTi. My question is what auto focus point/selection should I use when I am in Ai-Servo mode. I normally set my focus point to the center or af-expanison and readjust to compose the scene. I want to be able to follow the rule of thirds and still catch the action, but it seems to hard to predict the action and compose off center with Ai-Servo.

Any Thoughts?

Re: 7D Tracking & Focus.

Hi Ed, and welcome to the TDP Forums!

In AI-Servo mode, you can use any AF point as the starting position for tracking. So, for example you can use AF Point Expansion, manually select an off-center point, and that point (or the immediately surrounding ones) will be used to start tracking. Even when you're in 19-pt AF mode (the outer brackets), when you select AI-Servo mode you can choose an AF point using the joystick (seems odd to select and AF point in 'auto AF mode', I know, but that's how it works, and note that you're only selecting the point to start tracking - the AF system will use all 19 points as needed as the subject moves through the frame).

Also note that the 7D is different from previous non-1-series bodies for the starting point of AI-Servo tracking. With your previous cameras, you needed to start tracking with the subject in the center, but with the 7D you can start tracking from any selected AF point.

Hope that helps...

--John

Thanks John, That does really help.

What is the best practice with following the general rules of framing and capturing the action in focus.?

Quote Originally Posted by Ed_