Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Asked to do a wedding... (oh yes, one of those threads)

Asked to do a wedding... (oh yes, one of those threads)

Before anyone prepares to jump down my throat, I haven't done anything stupid (yet). I'm an amateur photographer making a bit of tax-declared profit on the side from event photography, mainly kids' sports. This isn't a vast sum of money - it's mainly used to fund my equipment. I posted an internet ad offering my services as a second shooter for professional wedding photographers because I believe my skill is up to that level. However, I recently received an email:

I came across your ad while searching for photographers, we are getting married on the 28th july 2012 in swansea just off junction 45. We need someone to take our wedding pictures. At these times cost is everything and if we go ahead you would be our only photographer, we can discuss and give examples of what pictures we would like you to take and the rest can be taken at will.
    thanks
    Of course, the knee-jerk reply is 'absolutely not, wedding photography is a task for the professionals in that field'. I replied:

Hi [name],

Firstly let me thank you for considering me as your primary wedding photographer, I am flattered. I'd also like to level with you straight away by saying that I have never shot a wedding before and my internet advert was aimed at professional wedding photographers requiring a second shooter, from whom I could learn the unique skills required in this sector of photography. I deal mainly with children's sports photography, which is about a thousand times easier than shooting a wedding.